1.7 I Need to Tell You

Jonathan and Alicea arrived at the sports bar about half an hour earlier than planned, and decided to have some nachos to snack on while they waited for Jonathan’s not-date date.

17_1
“I didn’t know you liked sports” Alicea chuckled, looking around at the framed sports jackets, multiple television screens, and other sports paraphernalia. He looked a little embarrassed.

17_2
“Well, I did play soccer in high school… But no, I’m not really into sports. They have good food here though, and Tom seems to be a really sportsy type person. I thought he’d like it…” Alicea smirked. She was happy to finally see Jonathan getting into the dating scene. Even if he refused to call this a date. She knew that he was starting to get lonely; finding gay people in a large city apparently wasn’t as easy as you might think. When Tom arrived Alicea snuck into a corner of the bar where she sipped on a drink and watched the two men.

17_3
They were chatting and laughing for a long while before their body language started to change. Even though she couldn’t actually hear what they were saying, she could see plainly that the conversation had certainly taken a more intimate tone.

17_4
She surveyed Tom curiously. He was handsome. Not as handsome as Jonathan of course, but few men were. That made her think of Saul. He was the most handsome man she had ever laid eyes on, she thought. Without really considering what the time would be in Italy, she picked up her phone and dialed his number. No reception. Sigh.

17_5
She stood up and moved around the room, phone in hand, trying to find a spot where she could get a signal.

Jonathan and Tom had somehow ended up dancing in the middle of the macho, manly sports bar. Jonathan was really enjoying himself, and barely saw Alicea as she stood in a corner with her phone to her ear. Only when she put the phone down with a deep sigh, did he see her.

17_6
He was having a great time, but he couldn’t help noticing Alicea’s body language, and his smile faded.
“Hey, I’ve just gotta go check on my cousin for a moment, I’ll be right back, okay?” He said to Tom, placing a warm hand intimately on his upper arm.

Alicea spent all evening apologizing to Jonathan for ruining his date, although he adamantly told her off every time, saying that she hadn’t ruined anything at all.

17_7
“I was about to end the date anyway. I don’t want to seem too smitten, you know.” He said with a wink. The fact that Jonathan had just called the outing a date made her a little happier, but she still wished that she would have just gone home on her own. After failing once again to get a hold of Saul, she had gotten a sick feeling in her stomach and just hadn’t been able to stay at the pub for one second longer. Jonathan, who was a gentleman and also cared a lot about his cousin, had said goodbye to Tom and gone with her without hesitation.

17_8
“But you’re going to see him again, right?” She asked curiously. Maybe she had been a bit too focused on her own issues, but no one could have missed the sparks flying between Jonathan and Tom, not even her.
“Well, I hope so. I mean, I’m not gonna fall all over him or anything, I don’t want to scare him away. But I hope he gives me a call. He’s a really nice guy, don’t you think?” Alicea let out a short laugh.
“Well, you didn’t really introduce us, so how would I know?” Jonathan blushed.

17_9
“Yeah… I guess I was a bit caught up in the moment. I’m sorry.” It was amusing for Alicea to see her cousin so coy and excited about someone. But at the same time, it made her feel even more miserable about her own love life. What the hell was Saul up to?

Alicea’s heart started racing when someone picked up the phone on the other side of the line and for a moment she almost stopped breathing. She was finally going to hear his voice again!
“Yeah, Saul here?” He said groggily. She recalculated the time difference again, anxious for a moment that she had managed to call him in the middle of the night.

17_10
No. It was 11 am in Italy. Was he still in bed? She had been sure he would be at work.
“Hi, it’s me.” She said, almost embarrassed. She hadn’t talked to him in weeks, maybe months. Could it really be months? The moment she had uttered the words, she could feel the awkward pressure in the air. For a moment she almost thought that he was going to hang up on her.
“Oh, hey.” His voice was deep and raspy, the way it usually was after they made love. Alicea blushed and felt a tingle go through her body.
“I’m so glad I finally get to talk to you. How is everything? Are you coming home soon? I miss-“ he cut her off awkwardly.
“I’m sorry Ali, I shouldn’t have put this off for so long.” He took a breath, as if to brace himself. Alicea’s thingling sensation vanished in an instant.

17_11
“I’m not coming home. Well, at least not the way you want me to.” Alicea’s lips parted in disbelief and heartbreak. With every word he spoke, she felt like another part of her was breaking into tiny, unsalvageable pieces. “I met someone, and I know I should have told you sooner, it’s really shitty of me. I wanted to tell you in person, but I don’t know when I’ll be back in St. Claire and… I got married last week, Alicea. So when I get back… Well as I said, it won’t be the way you expected me. I’m sorry for not telling you sooner.”

17_12
Alicea was dumbstruck, but she still managed to form words in her head and a few of them escaped from her lips.
“You’re… married? How..? Why didn’t you-” Again, Saul cut her off, a bit more urgently and with a colder tone to his voice this time.
“I really can’t talk right now, I need to go.”
“But Saul, I need to tell you, I’m-“ before she could finish the sentence, she heard a click and the line was dead. “pregnant…” she finished in a hollow voice.

17_13

 

Hi guys! Does anyone even remember that this blog exists? :P After a veeery long hiatus, I’m finally back! My excuse? Well, I basically had to focus on school work for a while, then my son was born prematurely and since then I’ve pretty much had my hands full taking care of my little preemie and full time school at the same time. I’m going to try to keep updating the blog at least every now and then, but I’m not making any promises or I’ll just be disappointed with myself. We’ll just have to see what happens! :)

2 thoughts on “1.7 I Need to Tell You

  1. Oh wow, yeah, I had sort of forgotton about this, but as soon as I saw it on my blogger dashboard I got all excited and remembered everyone :)

    Oh, poor Alicea! Good that her cousins found someone, but I hope she can get hold of Saul again, because he should take some responsibility. What an awful mistake he turned out to be! :|

    Congratulations on the birth of your son! Sorry he was born early, I hope he wasn’t too weak, and that he makes up for it as he grows. I bet you won’t have a lot of time for simming now you’re a mummy! *hugs* all the best, and look forward to when you’re next able to update :)

Leave a Comment

